Jean Delannoy

Biography

PDF Print Email
Jean Delannoy

French film director and screenwriter Jean Delannoy was born on January 12, 1908, in Noisy-le-Sec, in the Seine department (now Seine-Saint-Denis), and died on June 18, 2008, in Guainville, in the Eure-et-Loir department.

Between his first work, Paris-Deauville, which appeared on screens in 1934, and his last production, Marie de Nazareth (Marie of Nazareth), in 1995, Jean Delannoy wrote and directed close to 50 films over a period of more than 60 years and worked with many of the great actors of the last century.

Born on January 12, 1908, in Noisy-le-Sec, Jean Delannoy started his film career as a set designer and then took on successive positions as an actor and an editor before finally launching into writing and directing. This true craftsman of “French-quality” cinema was one of the greatest adaptors of literary works for the big screen, along the lines of — in a different genre — a Stanley Kubrick.

 

Bibliography

PDF Print Email
Guy Paqui, Jean Delannoy : ses années lumière, 1938-1992, Toulon, Presses du Midi, 2010
 

Movie Clip - La princesse de Clèves (1961)

PDF Print Email
 

Movie Clip - Le Baron de l'Ecluse (1960)

PDF Print Email

Jean Delannoy

Biographie

PDF Imprimer Email
Jean Delannoy

Jean Delannoy est un réalisateur et scénariste français, né le 12 janvier 1908 à Noisy-le-Sec, dans le département de la Seine (aujourd'hui Seine-Saint-Denis) et mort le 18 juin 2008 à Guainville (Eure-et-Loir).

Entre sa première œuvre, « Paris-Deauville » sortie sur les écrans en 1934 et sa dernière production, « Marie de Nazareth » en 1995, Jean Delannoy aura écrit et réalisé une cinquantaine de films sur une période de plus 60 ans ; et travaillé avec la plupart des grands acteurs du siècle dernier.

Né le 12 janvier 1908 à Noisy-le-Sec, Jean Delannoy a commencé sa carrière cinématographique comme décorateur, avant d’endosser successivement les rôles d’acteur puis de monteur avant de finalement se lancer dans l’écriture et la réalisation. Ce véritable artisan d’un cinéma de « qualité française » a été l’un des plus grands adaptateurs d’oeuvres littéraires pour le grand écran, à l’image – dans un autre genre – d’un Stanley Kubrick.

 

Bibliographie

PDF Imprimer Email
Guy Paqui, Jean Delannoy : ses années lumière, 1938-1992, Toulon, Presses du Midi, 2010
 

Extrait de film - La princesse de Clèves (1961)

PDF Imprimer Email
 

Extrait de film - Le baron de l'Ecluse (1960)

PDF Imprimer Email